USC Football

2019 USC Football Team Banquet Awards

November 24, 2019

The following was released by the USC Sports Information Department:

Nov. 24, 2019


LOS ANGELES—USC senior wide receiver Michael Pittman Jr. was named the Most Valuable Player of the 2019 Trojan football team at the annual awards banquet Sunday (Nov. 24) at the Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum’s Scholarship Club Tower.

Pittman, an All-American candidate who is a semifinalist for the 2019 Biletnikoff Award and Witten Award and a finalist for the Pop Warner National College Football Award, also was presented with USC’s Community Service Award and Lifters Award.

He leads the Trojans with 95 receptions for 1,222 yards and 11 touchdowns in 2019.  He is fourth nationally in receptions (7.9), eithth in receiving TDs (11) and 10th in receiving yards (101.8).  He has been in double digits in receptions 4 times in 2019 and over 100 yards 5 times.  In his career, he has 165 career catches for 2,466 yards and 19 scores with 29 starts to rank 13th on USC's career receptions list.  He has 9 100-yard receiving games in his career. 

Senior inside linebacker John Houston Jr. was named the Most Inspirational Player.  Junior wide receiver Tyler Vaughns was the Offensive Perimeter Player of the Year, while sophomore safeties Talanoa Hufanga and Isaiah Pola-Mao were the Defensive Perimeter Players of the Year.  Sophomore offensive guard Alijah Vera-Tucker was the Offensive Lineman of the Year, while sophomore defensive lineman Jay Tufele repeated as the Defensive Lineman of the Year.  Sophomore placekicker Chase McGrath was the Special Teams Player of the Year.

A complete list of the 2019 awards:
**Most Valuable Player:  wide receiver Michael Pittman Jr.

**Most Inspirational Player:  inside linebacker John Houston Jr.

**Trojan Way Leadership Award:  wide receiver Amon-Ra St. Brown

**Trojan Commitment Award:  defensive lineman Christian Rector

**Linemen of the Year: offensive guard Alijah Vera-Tucker (offense), defensive lineman Jay Tufele (defense)

**Perimeter Players of the Year:  wide receiver Tyler Vaughns (offense), safeties Talanoa Hufanga and Isaiah Pola-Mao (defense)

**Special Teams Player of the Year:  placekicker Chase McGrath

**Service Team Players of the Year: tight ends Sean Mahoney and Scott Voigt (offense) and inside linebackers Matt Bayle and Grant Jones (defense)

**Player of the Game vs. UCLA:  quarterback Kedon Slovis

**Howard Jones/Football Alumni Club Academic Award (overall academic achievement):  offensive guard Jacob Daniel

**Bob Chandler Award (underclassman with outstanding athletic ability, academic achievement and character):  tight end Erik Krommenhoek

**John McKay Award (player with the most competitive spirit):  offensive tackle Drew Richmond 

**Joe Collins Walk-on Award:  tailback Quincy Jountti

**Chris Carlisle Courage Award:  offensive tackle Austin Jackson

**Jack Oakie “Rise and Shine” Award (player who best embodies the Fight On spirit):  quarterback Matt Fink


**Community Service Award:  wide receiver Michael Pittman Jr.

**Lifters Award:  wide receiver Michael Pittman Jr., tailback Quincy Jountti

**Captains:  inside linebackers John Houston Jr. and Jordan Iosefa, wide receiver Michael Pittman Jr., defensive lineman Christian Rector

Tags: Football, USC
Verify your student status
See Subscription Benefits
Trial only available to users who have never subscribed or participated in a previous trial.