USC Football

Cameron Smith named USC's Most Valuable Player

December 12, 2018

LOS ANGELES—USC senior inside linebacker Cameron Smith was named the Most Valuable Player of the 2018 Trojan football team at the annual awards banquet Wednesday (Dec. 12) at USC’s Town & Gown.

Senior cornerback Ajene Harris was named the Most Inspirational Player.

Smith made 81 tackles in 2018 to become the first Trojan in nearly 40 years to top the team in tackles in 3 consecutive seasons.  Harris had 57 tackles, 7 deflections and an interception return for a touchdown while playing nickelback, free safety and strong safety.

Junior wide receiver Michael Pittman Jr., who had 41 receptions and 6 TDs, was the Offensive Perimeter Player of the Year, while senior cornerback Iman Marshall, who had 48 tackles and a team-best 9 deflections, was the Defensive Perimeter Player of the Year.  Senior offensive guard Chris Brown repeated as Offensive Lineman of the Year, while redshirt freshman defensive lineman Jay Tufele was the Defensive Lineman of the Year.  Senior inside linebacker Reuben Peters was the Special Teams Player of the Year.

A complete list of the 2018 awards:

Most Valuable Player:  inside linebacker Cameron Smith
Most Inspirational Player:  cornerback Ajene Harris
Trojan Way Leadership Award:  outside linebacker Porter Gustin
Trojan Commitment Award:  safety Marvell Tell III
Linemen of the Year: offensive guard Chris Brown (offense), defensive lineman Jay Tufele (defense)

Perimeter Players of the Year:  wide receiver Michael Pittman Jr. (offense), cornerback Iman Marshall (defense)

Special Teams Player of the Year:  inside linebacker Reuben Peters
Service Team Players of the Year: tailback Quincy Jountti and offensive tackle Liam Douglass (offense), inside linebacker Spencer Gilbert and outside linebacker Bryce Matthews (defense)
Howard Jones/Football Alumni Club Academic Award (overall academic achievement):  offensive guard Jordan Austin
Bob Chandler Award (underclassman with outstanding athletic ability, academic achievement and character):  tailback Vavae Malepeai
John McKay Award (player with the most competitive spirit):  offensive tackle Austin Jackson, wide receiver Amon-Ra St. Brown  
Joe Collins Walk-on Award:  wide receiver Jake Russell
Chris Carlisle Courage Award:  snapper Jake Olson
Community Service Award:  tight end Daniel Imatorbhebhe
Lifters Award:  offensive guard Jordan Austin (offense), outside linebacker Porter Gustin and inside linebacker Reuben Peters (defense)
Captains:  safety Marvell Tell III, inside linebacker Cameron Smith, outside linebacker Porter Gustin, center Toa Lobendahn



Tags: Football
Discussion from...

Cameron Smith named USC's Most Valuable Player

There are not any replies to this post yet.
Page 1 of 1
Verify your student status
See Subscription Benefits
Trial only available to users who have never subscribed or participated in a previous trial.